SKI TOURS AROUND THE LAKE OF VAN

SKI TOURING IN THE MOUNTAINS AROUND LAKE VAN

The city of Van is situated in the east of Turkey, the largest lake in Turkey. It is surrounded by dozens of gigantic mountains, which rise to almost more than 4,000 m above sea level. Almost every mountain in this region is suitable for ski tours. The winters are cold and snowy. The snow reaches almost down to the lake until mid of March. Almost from every mountain, you can enjoy the view of the lake. The snow quality is high, either on powder snow or firn. Since Van is also a lively city, the evenings offer a lot of entertainment. And after a strenuous ski tour, a special pleasure is the wellness area of our hotel.

CHARACTERISTICS OF THE TOUR

For these tours, good body condition and good skiing skills are required. The ascents and descents are long. On average, 1,400 - 1,600 heights are to be handled, so the slopes are accordingly long. The maximum steepness of the slopes is around 30 °. The selected mountains are ideal skiing places - for enthusiastic ski mountaineers great, exotic destinations that require no special ski skills apart from the necessary physical condition.

TOUR ITINERARY

 

1st day: Flight to Istanbul

Arrival in Istanbul, transfer to the hotel in the old town. If the flight is early, a half-day tour of the sights of Sultanahmet (Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and Underground Cisterns) is available. Overnight in Istanbul in a hotel of the middle class.

 

2nd day: Early Flight to Van, short tour to Mt. Cat (3.125 m)

Transfer to the airport, 1 hour 45 min. Flight to Van. Arrived transfer to the hotel in the city center. Since we arrive already in the morning, the rest of the day offers us a short tour to the mountain Cat with a height of 3.125 m, which we reach after 45 min. drive. The starting point is the village Yatagan. (B)

 

3rd day: Skitour Mt. Artos (3.537 m)
Today's mountain is Artos, probably with the best view to the lake of all ski mountains in the area with an altitude of 3,537 m. The ascent is via the north side with a continuous lake view from the town Gevas. The descent will be only on wide snowfields, then through a steep, tight valley back to the starting point. (B)

4th day: Skitour Mt. Mevzi (3.280 m)

Today we continue towards Catak, where the village of Onagil is located. From this village, we begin our ski tour via the western wall of the mountain. Again we have a magnificent view over the Van lake. The descent is no less magnificent. Again we return to Van to the hotel. (B)

 

5th day: Skitour zum Mt. Baset (3.780 m)

After an hour transfer, we arrive in the village Bagriyanik and start the ascent to Mount Baset which is one of the highest mountains in the area. The ascent is steep exit the racier. The route is again on the same route. (B)

 

6th day: Skitour Mt. Kartaltepe (3.300 m)

After a 45-minute drive, just below the village of Boyunpinar, we start the ascent of the mountain Kartaltepe, a steep mountain whose descent is a pleasure, of course again with a view over the Van Lake. (B)

 

7th day: free day (is mostly in the mid of the week, it may change due to weather conditions)

Today is the day of resting. We will drive to Gevas and continue by boat to the island of Akdamar with the famous Armenian church from the Middle Ages. After lunch in Gevas the day in Van is still available freely or watch together with the amazing sunset on the lake (depending on the weather. (B)

 

8th day: Flight home or Skitour Mt. Kavussahap (3.450 m)

The access to Mount Kavussahap leads along the Van Lake to the village of Yanikcay, which is at the end of a long plain. From here step into the skies and climb the mountain and then having a downhill. (B)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EXTENSION

9th day: Skitour Mt. Hasanbesir (3.480 m)

Today we drive again the same way as the day before. This time, however, to the village of Baglama. From here we climb the mountain Hasanbesir. The descend will be to the same village. (B)

 

10th day: Skitour Mt. Süphan (4.058 m)

A long drive awaits us today to the last village at the foot of Mt. Süphan which is located on the north side of the lake. The ascent begins directly from the village of Kiskili. The route is a long route, which leads first to the eastern shoulder of the mountain, at 3,800 m, and then steep to the summit of Mt. Süphan. Great downhill from one of the most beautiful ski mountains of Turkey and return to Van. (B)

 

11th day: Flight home

End of the trip, transfer to the airport and flight home. (B)

ACCOMMODATION

You stay at Hotel Akdamar based on bed and breakfast

 

SKI TOURS

6 guided ski tours from the hotel in the mountains around Lake Van with a height up to 4,058 m with steepness degrees of 25 ° - 35 °.

 

SKI TOUR GUIDE

Up to 8 people one guide with English language skills. From the 9th person, another ski leader. 

 

PERMIT

Currently no restrictions and no specific permit required (as of 2020).

 

SKIING GEAR

You bring your own gear

 

DATES

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx 

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

You can book this tour also for a week. The arrival dates above are the beginning dates of the week tour, too.

 

DEADLINE

1 week before the travel date

 

OUR SERVICES

  • ​On request flights from all major European airports via Istanbul to Erzincan and back

  • All necessary land transports

  • Medium class hotel in Van based on bed and breakfast breakfast

  • English speaking ski mountaineering guide of our company

  • Detailed equipment list

 

Important notice: Programme could be changed due to weather conditions!

INQUIRY

caria pan travel.png

Scan this QR code or click on it to check our legality at TÜRSAB (Association of the Turkish Travel Agencies).

alpine-turkey.com is a brand of Caria Pan Travel

SKIREIGEN AM VAN SEE

SKIREIGEN IN DEN BERGEN UM DEN VAN SEE

 

Die 1.650 m hoch gelegene Stadt Van liegt in im Osten der Türkei am gößten See des Landes und ist umrundet mit gigantischen Bergen, die auf knapp 4.000 m Höhe hinausragen. Fast jeder Berg in dieser Region eignet sich für Skitouren. Die Winter sind kalt und schneereich. Der Schnee reicht bis April fast bis zum See hinunter. Fast von jedem Berg fährt man genussvoll mit einem Blick zum See ab. Die Schneequalität ist hoch, entweder fährt man auf Pulverschnee oder Firn ab. Da Van auch eine ziemlich lebhafte Stadt ist, bieten auch die Abende manches an Unterhaltung an. Und ein besonderer Genuß ist nach einer anstrengenden Skitour der Wellness - Bereich unseres Hotels.

CHARAKTERISTIK DER TOUR

Diese Touren erfordern eine gute Körperkondition, und gute Skifahrkenntnisse. Die Aufstiege und Abfahrten sind durchwegs lang. Durchschnittlich sind 1.400 – 1.600 Höhenmeter am Tag zu bewältigen, daher sind die Abfahrten auch dementsprechend lang. Die maximale Steilheit der Routen beträgt etwa 30°. Die ausgesuchten Berge sind ideale Skiberge für begeisterte Skibergsteiger. Großartige, exotische Ziele, die abgesehen von der nötigen Kondition keine besonderen skitechnischen Fähigkeiten erfordern.

ABLAUF DER REISE

 

1. Tag: Flug nach Istanbul
Ankunft in Istanbul, Transfer zum Hotel in der Altstadt. Sollte der Flug früh sein, bietet sich eine halbtägige Besichtigung der Sehenswürdigkeiten von Sultan Ahmet an (Topkapi Palast, Hagia Sophia, Blaue Moschee und die unterirdischen Zisternen). Übernachtung in Istanbul in einem Hotel der Mittelklasse.

 

2. Tag: Flug nach Van, Eingehtour Mt. Cat (3.125 m)
Transfer zum Flughafen, 1 Std. 45 min. Flug nach Van. Angekommen Transfer zum Hotel im Stadtzentrum. Da wir bereits am Vormittag schon in Van ankommen bietet sich der Rest des Tages für eine Eingehtour auf den Berg Cat mit seiner Höhe von 3.125 m, welches wir nach 45 min. Fahrt bereits erreichen. Ausgangspunkt ist das Dorf Yatagan.

 

3. Tag: Skitour Mt. Artos (3.537 m)
Heute steht der Berg Artos, wahrscheinlich mit dem besten Ausblick aller Skiberge in der Umgebung mit einer Höhe von 3.537 m im Programm. Der Aufstieg erfolgt über die Nordseite mit einem durchgehenden Seeausblick vom Rand der Stadt Gevas. Die Abfahrt erfolgt erst über weite Schneefelder, dann durch eine steile Rinne zum Ausgangspunkt zurück.

4. Tag: Skitour Mt. Mevzi (3.280 m)
Heute fahren wir in Richtung Catak auf dessen Weg das Dorf Onagil liegt. Von diesem Dorf aus beginnen wir unsere Skitour über die Westwand des Berges. Wieder haben wir einen prachtvollen Ausblick über den Van See. Die Abfahrt ist jedoch nicht weniger prachtvoll. Wieder kehren wir zum Übernachten nach Van zurück.

 

5. Tag: Skitour zum Mt. Baset (3.780 m)
Nach einer einstündigen Fahrt kommen wir im Dorf Bagriyanik an und starten mit dem Aufstieg zum Berg Baset, der eines der höchsten Berge der Umgebung ist. Der Aufstieg ist steil die Abfahrt umso rassiger. Die Abfahrt erfolgt wieder über dieselbe Route.

 

6. Tag: Skitour Mt. Kartaltepe (3.300 m)
Nach einer Fahrt von 45 min., bereits unterhalb des Dorfes Boyunpinar beginnen wir die Besteigung des Berges Kartaltepe, ein steiler Berg, dessen Abfahrt ein Genuss ist, natürlich mit einem Ausblick über den Van See.

 

7. Tag: Ruhetag Dieser Tag findet je nach Wetterbedingungen in der Mitte der Woche statt)
Heute ist Ruhetag angesagt. An diesem Tag fahren wir nach Gevas und von dort weiter mit dem Boot zur Insel Akdamar, zur berühmten armenischen Kirche aus dem Mittelalter. Nach einem Mittagessen in Gevas steht der Tag in Van zur freien Verfügung.

 

8. Tag: Heimflug oder Skitour Mt. Kavussahap (3.450 m)
Heimflug oder...

Die Anfahrt zum Berg Kavussahap erfolgt entlang dem Van See zum Dorf Yanikcay, das am Ende einer langen Ebene liegt. Von hier aus steigen wir in die Ski und besteigen den Berg und fahren anschließend wieder ab.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

VERLÄNGERUNG

 

9. Tag: Skitour Mt. Hasanbesir (3.480 m)
Heute fahren wir wieder dieselbe Strecke wie am Tag davor. Diesmal jedoch zum Dorf Baglama. Von hier aus besteigen wir den Berg Hasanbesir und fahren wieder mit Seeblick hinunter zum selben Dorf.

 

10. Tag: Skitour Mt. Süphan (4.058 m)
Eine lange Fahrt erwartet uns heute bis zum letzten Dorf am Fuße des Vulkans Mt. Süphan. Der Aufstieg beginnt direkt von Dorf Kiskili. Die Route ist eine lange Route, die erst auf die Schulter des Berges, auf 3.800 m führt und anschließend steiler werdend zum Gipfel. Abfahrt von einem der schönsten Skiberge der Türkei und Rückfahrt nach Van.

 

11. Tag: Heimflug
Ende der Reise, Transfer zum Flughafen und Heimflug.

UNTERKUNFT

Wir wohnen in einem gemütlichen, Stadthotelhotel in Van mit Frühstück. 

DIE SKITOUREN

6 geführte Tages - Skitouren vom Hotel aus in den Bergen um Van mit einer Höhe bis zu 4.058 m mit Steilheitsgraden von 25° - 35°.

 

FÜHRUNG

Bis zu 8 Personen ein Skibergführer mit deutsch - oder englischen Sprachkenntnissen. Ab der 9. Person jeweils ein weiterer Skibergführer.

 

PERMIT

Derzeit keine Einschränkung und kein bestimmter Permit erforderlich (Stand 2020).

SKIAUSRÜSTUNG

Bringst du selbst mit.

 

TERMINE

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

Diese Tour kann auch eine volle Woche (7 Übernachtugen) gebucht werden, Ausgangsdatum dafür ist der Anreisedatum.

 

ANMELDESCHLUSS

Ist 1 Woche vor dem Reisedatum.

UNSERE LEISTUNGEN

  • Auf Wunsch Flüge aus allen gängigen Flughäfen Europas über Istanbul nach Van und zurück

  • Alle notwendigen Landtransporte 

  • Mittelklassehotels in Istanbul und Van mit Frühstück 

  • Deutsch- oder Englischsprachiger Skibergführer unserer Firma

  • Deutsch- oder englischsprachiger Reiseleiter während der gesamten Reise

  • Detaillierte Ausrüstungsliste

 

Änderungen je nach Wetter und Bedingungen vorbehalten!

UNVERBINDLICHE ANFRAGE

caria pan travel.png

Scannen Sie dieses 
QR-Code oder clicken Sie drauf um unsere Rechtmäßigkeit bei TÜRSAB (Verband der türkischen Reiseagenturen) zu überprüfen.

alpine-turkey.com ist eine Marke des Caria Pan Travel