THE CRADLE OF FAITH

EASTERN ANATOLIA - GÖBEKLITEPE, THE CRADLE OF FAITH 

It is the first monumental temple district of mankind. Where humans made the transition from migrants to farmers 12,000 years ago.

The American archaeologist Peter Benedict discovered Göbeklitepe in 1963 as part of a survey project by the Universities of Istanbul and Ankara. Klaus Schmidt recognized the importance of the hill and excavated in 1994 until his death in Göbeklitepe in 2014. So far, only 1.5% of the area has been excavated. It will take a long time before Göbeklitepe's secrets come to light.

 

In order to understand Göbeklitepe, we will deal intensively with the Mesolithic this week and visit many highlights in the area.

TOUR ITINERARY

1st day: Arrival

Flight via Istanbul to Diyarbakır. Transfer to the hotel in the city. Overnight in the city Diyarbakır.

 

2nd day: Diyarbakır and Çayönü

Today we visit Diyarbakir in the morning, take a leisurely walk to Ulucamii, take a look at the Byzantine bridge, and of course visit the Archaeological Museum of Diyarbakir in detail. After the lunch break, we head to Cayönü, an important Neolithic settlement from 7500 BC. Overnight in the city of Adıyaman.

 

3rd day: The thrones of Gods on Mt. Nemrut

Today there are many highlights on our list. In the morning we first visit the museum in Adıyaman to see the famous Kilisik statue. After a short drive, we are at the Karakuş Tumulus and drive further to Mount Nemrut after our visit. First with the minibus and then by pedes it goes to 2.150 m where the colossal tumulus of the Commagene King Antioch is. Overnight in Gaziantep.

 

4th day: The Mosaics from Zeugma

When the Birecik dam filled up slowly, in 1995 they tried to save as much as possible from the ancient Zeugma. During these rescue excavations, they were amazed at the good condition and the number of mosaics and murals that came to light.

We devote our morning to the Mosaics of Zeugma and in the afternoon we take a leisurely stroll through the streets of the old town of Gaziantep. In the afternoon we visit the Archaeological Museum of Gaziantep. Overnight in Sanliurfa.

 

5th day: The 2nd Göbeklitepe and the planet sanctuary of the Sabiers

After a leisurely breakfast, we drive to the village of Karahantepe. The mayor guides us to the new finds, more than 250 new pillars have recently been found here in the same way as in Göbeklitepe. We are pioneers here because the excavations are hardly known and have not yet been started. We take our lunch break with the mayor. After a short drive, we get to Sumatar. Sumatar is one of the rare places where there is still a 13th-century Sabier temple. Overnight in Sanliurfa.

6th day: Göbeklitepe

We devote our morning to the excavations in Göbeklitepe. After a lunch break in Urfa, we visit the Archaeological Museum of Urfa in detail. In the afternoon we have free time around the Haleplibahçe Mosaic Museum or the other sights in Şanlıurfa. In the evening we have are going to meet with the archaeologists from Göbeklitepe. Overnight in Sanliurfa.

 

7th day: Halfeti and having a swim in the Euphrat

We only go to Halfeti and take a boat trip with a break on the Euphrates. There is Euphrates fish for lunch on. In the afternoon we take a leisurely tour through Şanlıurfa, visit the carp pond and then have the opportunity to meet Çiğdem Köksal Schmidt (wife of Klaus Schmidt)

 

8th day: Journey home

Transfer to the airport, flight home.

OUR SERVICES

  • Flight to Diyarbakır and back from Şanlıurfa

  • Flight and airport taxes

  • All transfers and transports 

  • 7 nights in Boutique-Hotels including breakfast

  • Expert tour guide

NOT INCLUDED

  • Additional meals and beverages

  • Tips

  • Personal Travel insurance 

TOUR DATES

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

The minimum number of people for this tour is 6. The tour is limited with 14 people.

INQUIRY

DIE WIEGE DES GLAUBENS

OSTANATOLIEN - GÖBEKLITEPE, DIE WIEGE DES GLAUBENS 

Er ist der erste monumentale Tempelbezirk der Menschheit. Wo der Mensch vor 12.000 Jahren den Übergang vom Wanderer zum Bauern vollzog.

Der amerikanische Archäologe Peter Benedict entdeckte 1963 im Rahmen eines Survey-Projekts der Universität Istanbul und Ankara Göbeklitepe. Klaus Schmidt erkannte 1994 die Bedeutung des Hügels und grub bis zu seinem Tod 2014 in Göbeklitepe. Bis jetzt sind nur 1,5 % des Areals ausgegraben worden. Es wird lange dauern bis die Geheimnisse von Göbeklitepe ans Licht kommen.

 

Um Göbeklitepe zu verstehen werden wir uns diese Woche intensiv mit dem Mesolithikum beschäftigen und viele Highlights in der Umgebung besichtigen.

ABLAUF DER REISE

1. Tag: Anreise

Anreise über Istanbul nach Diyarbakir.

Übernachtung Diyarbakir.

 

2. Tag: Diyarbakir und Cayönü

Heute besichtigen wir am Vormittag Diyarbakir, machen einen gemütlichen Spaziergang zur Ulucamii, schauen uns die byzantinische Brücke an und besichtigen natürlich ausführlich das Archäologische Museum von Diyarbakir. Nach der Mittagspause geht es nach Cayönü, einer bedeutenden neolithischen Siedlung aus 7500 v. Chr.

Übernachtung in Adıyaman.

 

3. Tag: Die Götterstatuen auf dem Berg Nemrut

Heute haben wir einige Highlights auf unserer Liste. Am Morgen besuchen wir erst das Museum in Adıyaman um die berühmte Kilisik Statue zu bewundern. Nach einer kurzen Fahrt sind wir beim Karakuş-Tumulus und fahren nach unserer Besichtigung zum Berg Nemrut. Erst mit dem Minibus und danach per Pedes geht es auf 2150m wo sich der kolossale Tumulus des Kommagene Königs Antiochos befindet.

Übernachtung in Gaziantep

 

4. Tag: Die Mosaiken aus Zeugma

Als der Birecik Staudamm sich langsam füllte hat man 1995 versucht soviel wie möglich aus dem antiken Zeugma zu retten. Bei diesen Rettungsgrabungen war man erstaunt über die gute Erhaltung und der Menge an Mosaiken und Wandmalereien die zum Vorschein kamen.

Wir widmen unseren Vormittag den Mosaiken von Zeugma und am Nachmittag machen wir einen gemütlichen Spaziergang durch die Gassen der Altstadt von Gaziantep. Am Nachmittag besichtigen wir das Archäologische Museum von Gaziantep.

Übernachtung in Şanlıurfa

 

5. Tag: Das 2.Göbeklitepe und das Planetenheiligtum der Sabier

Nach einem gemütlichen Frühstück fahren wir zum Dorf Karahantepe. Der Bürgermeister geleitet uns zu den neuen Funden, hier wurden kürzlich über 250 neue Pfeiler in der gleichen Art wie in Göbeklitepe gefunden. Hier sind wir Pioniere, denn die Ausgrabungen sind kaum bekannt und werden noch nicht angefahren. Unsere Mittagspause machen wir beim Bürgermeister. Nach einer kurzen Fahrt gelangen wir nach Sumatar. Sumatar ist einer der seltenen Orte in der noch Tempel der im 13.Jhd. untergegangenen Religionsgemeinschaft der Sabier stehen.

Übernachtung in Şanlıurfa

6. Tag: Göbeklitepe

Unseren Vormittag widmen wir den Ausgrabungen in Göbeklitepe. Nach einer Mittagspause in Urfa besichtigen wir ausführlich das Archäologische Museum von Urfa. Am Nachmittag haben wir frei Zeit um das Haleplibahçe Mosaikmuseum oder den anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Şanlıurfa. Am Abend haben wir einen Treff mit den Archäologen von Göbeklitepe.

Übernachtung in Şanlıurfa

 

7. Tag: Halfeti und Baden im Euphrat

Wir fahren erst nach Halfeti und machen eine Bootsfahrt mit Badepause auf dem Euphrat.

Am gibt es Euphrat-Fisch als Mittagessen. Am Nachmittag machen wir eine gemütliche Tour durch Şanlıurfa, besuchen den Karpfenteich und haben danach auch die Möglichkeit für eine Begegnung mit Çiğdem Köksal Schmidt (Ehefrau Klaus Schmidt)

 

8. Tag: Heimreise

Transfer zum Flughafen, Heimflug.

INKLUDIERTE LEISTUNGEN

  • Flug nach Diyarbakir und zurück

  • Flughafensteuern und Treibstoffzuschläge Stand Mai 2020

  • Alle Transfers und Transporte 

  • Alle Übernachtungen in Boutique-Hotels mit Frühstück

  • Fachkundige, deutschsprachige Reiseleitung

NICHT INKLUDIERT

  • Zusätzliche Mahlzeiten und Getränke

  • Trinkgelder

  • Versicherung 

 

TERMINE

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

xx.xx.xxxx - xx.xx.xxxx

Die Mindestteilnehmerzahl dieser Tour ist 6 Personen. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt mit 14 Personen

UNVERBINDLICHE ANFRAGE

caria pan travel.png

Scannen Sie dieses 
QR-Code oder clicken Sie drauf um unsere Rechtmäßigkeit bei TÜRSAB (Verband der türkischen Reiseagenturen) zu überprüfen.

alpine-turkey.com ist eine Marke des Caria Pan Travel